Desktop App shutdown

A nice feature would be, when closing the app, instead of the “you could lose data” message every time the app just performed a final sync (maybe with a self closing please wait message) and close the app.

3 Likes

I agree with this. It is a little unnerving to see the message pop ALL the time when you goto quit. If the sync is complete and there are no errors etc. It should just say all good sync is complete shutting down VS the you could loose data message.

73!! David (KG5EIU)

1 Like

@KG5EIU @KJ9O This message doesn’t come up when you just simply close the app, only when you are logging out. There shouldn’t be any reason to log out of the desktop app once you’ve signed in. Its designed to stay logged into all the time, this way if you are operating portable and dont have internet you can still log your contacts, once you are back to an internet connection it will provide you a ‘login again’ button which will log you in and sync your contacts

1 Like

That has not been my experience. When closing the app (from the X) I see this message. Every time.

3 Likes

@KJ9O @KG5EIU There is a major difference between the exit and logout. The exit is simply exiting the app and all logged qso’s are still staying stored in the local device database. Now the logout however, will remove that local database and data if its not synced.

Here is a screen recording explaining those differences: Desktop app exit vs logout | Loom

I am however happy to talk to the team and add a feature request to just auto trigger a sync once the logout button is clicked.

1 Like

So you demonstrated with your first action the issue I was describing. That message box is an unneeded annoyance that really serves no purpose. It is an extra click that is not needed. At least give us a “Don’t show this again”, please. :slight_smile:

1 Like

@KJ9O Like i mentioned i’ve added this as a feature request and will discuss it with the team.

Thanks & 73
Brad K4AZE

2 Likes

@k4aze This is what I see any time I click the X in the corner to quit the app–the window even says “Quit World Radio League Desktop?” I think this might be what they’re referring to. I realize it’s just saying “may be lost” but it seems to me the system should know whether it’s in a state to lose something or not. And based on what you’re saying, a quit wouldn’t actually lose anything anyway, just fail to finish syncing to the cloud? Language could be improved at least, and ideally this wouldn’t show up unless there was actually a sync in progress.