Confirmation statuses on LoTW change over time as other operators confirm QSOs. With Confirmation Re-Check, you can re-verify confirmation statuses for all your previously imported contacts — ensuring your log always reflects the latest confirmations without needing a full re-import.
This implies to me that I should plan to periodically delete all data and do a full re-import from LoTW. Is deleting and importing 8000+ records perhaps quarterly the correct implementation of what the help text says?
The documentation says only premium members can run a re-check. What is the best way for non-premium members who are not allowed to use re-check?
I use LoTW import because I found QRZ import too hard as it force me to create entries for each QRZ logbook for each call sign. One LoTW import grabs all my call signs and has already handled importing new QSOs from 3 different call signs since I started a few weeks ago.
Importing and applying that much data requires quite a bit of cloud processing, which is why we’ve implemented it as a premium feature. We appreciate ALL of our members, but cloud costs are very real, so we must mitigate those costs to keep WRL available so inexpensively for EVERYONE!!! We are very happy to be providing more for free than any other cloud logging software, and are grateful to everyone who supports us in any capacity!
Yes I assumed it was painful for WRL. That’s why I asked about the help text that seems to suggest I should do “a full re-import”. I haven’t yet figured out if doing a delete and import is beneficial to me as a non premium user.